Written by Mike Noblin
July 27, 2023
NBA Championship Odds for the 2023-24 Season

NBA Championship Odds for the 2023-24 Season

It's been less than 2 months since the Denver Nuggets won their first ever NBA championship. The Miami Heat had a fabulous run, but they simply didn't have an answer for the deadly combination of Nikola Jokic and Jamal Murray.

Can the Nuggs pull of a repeat this season? Surprisingly enough, most oddsmakers have the Boston Celtics as the favorite to take home the crown for the 2023-24 season. Check out the live odds for the 2023-24 NBA championship below as well as an early futures bet.

Here’s a quick look at the current odds from FanDuel Sportsbook as of July 27:

Current NBA Championship Betting Odds

Latest Odds from FanDuel SportsBook

Team Odds
Boston Celtics +470
Denver Nuggets +480
Milwaukee Bucks +600
Phoenix Suns +650
Miami Heat +1000
Golden State Warriors +1400
Los Angeles Lakers +1500
Philadelphia 76ers +1700
Cleveland Cavaliers +2000
Los Angeles Clippers +2000
Dallas Mavericks +2400
Memphis Grizzlies +3000
New Orleans Pelicans +4700
Sacramento Kings +5000
New York Knicks +5500
Atlanta Hawks +7500
Oklahoma City Thunder +8500
Minnesota Timberwolves +8500
Toronto Raptors +10000
Brooklyn Nets +10000
Chicago Bulls +13000
Portland Trail Blazers +25000
Utah Jazz +25000
Indiana Pacers +25000
San Antonio Spurs +25000
Orlando Magic +35000
Houston Rockets +35000
Washington Wizards +50000
Charlotte Hornets +50000
Detroit Pistons +50000

Just four teams have odds of +650 or less for next season's title. While Boston is the favorite at +470, Denver is nipping on their heels at +480. Milwaukee currently has the 3rd lowest odds at +600 and Phoenix is currently sitting at +650.

As for the second-tier favorites that are in double-digit odds, Miami is at +1000 after their Eastern Conference title. The Golden State Warriors (+1400) are getting older but will still be in the mix as long as Steph Curry and Klay Thompson stay healthy.

The Los Angeles Lakers (+1500) and Philadelphia 76ers (+1700) are the only 2 other teams with odds less than 20 to 1 to win the title.

Can the Nuggets Repeat?

Denver certainly has the roster to repeat as NBA champs in 2023-24. Jokic is the most dominant player in the league and Murray has really established himself as an elite scoring guard.

As long as these two beasts are healthy, the Nuggs will always be a title threat. All of that being said, Denver has some depth concerns heading into the new season.

They weren't able to sign Bruce Brown, who wound up inking a deal with Pacers this offseason. Brown came up big for the Nuggets during the playoffs last year and his leadership skills will be sorely missed.

Best Bet to Win NBA Title: Philadelphia 76ers +1800

While most of the focus is on Denver and Boston, I'm going to take the opportunity to buy the 76ers at a low. Getting 18 to 1 with Philly just seems like a bargain. The Sixers have the roster to contend with the Celtics and the Bucks in the Eastern Conference.

Joel Embiid finally brought home his first NBA MVP Award last season after averaging 33.1 points and 10.2 rebounds per game. While there are rumors that Philly may trade James Harden, I just don't see that happening. "The Beard" was a big reason why Embiid had so much success last season.

I love the fact that the Sixers finally parted ways with Doc Rivers. He seems to be a great guy, but he folds like a cheap tent in the postseason. Hiring Nick Nurse, who led the Raptors to a title in 2019, was a great move for Philly.

Look for Nurse to get more out of this squad than Rivers. Embiid will have another fabulous season, and even if Harden ends up getting traded, the supporting cast is still pretty good. Give me Philly at +1800 to start up the NBA Futures portfolio.

Past Winners of NBA Title

Ready to learn more about the history of the NBA title? We've put in the research to bring you the most commonly asked questions and answers.

This section may help you win trivia night at your favorite sports bar or restaurant. Here's a list of all of the NBA champions from 2000 to current. As you can see, the Lakers, Spurs, and Warriors have dominated since the turn of the century.

Year Winner
2000 Los Angeles Lakers
2001 Los Angeles Lakers
2002 Los Angeles Lakers
2003 San Antonio Spurs
2004 Detroit Pistons
2005 San Antonio Spurs
2006 Miami Heat
2007 San Antonio Spurs
2008 Boston Celtics
2009 Los Angeles Lakers
2010 Los Angeles Lakers
2011 Dallas Mavericks
2012 Miami Heat
2013 Miami Heat
2014 San Antonio Spurs
2015 Golden State Warriors
2016 Cleveland Cavaliers
2017 Golden State Warriors
2018 Golden State Warriors
2019 Toronto Raptors
2020 Los Angeles Lakers
2021 Milwaukee Bucks
2022 Golden State Warriors

NBA Title FAQs

To further increase your knowledge of the NBA, we've put together the following list of the most commonly asked questions and answers about the NBA championship.

Got a question you'd like us to answer in this section. Reach out to us via email at [email protected] or on Twitter @EatWatchBet.

What team has won the most NBA championships?

The Boston Celtics have won the most NBA championships with 17 titles. The Los Angeles Lakers are close behind with 16 championships.

Which player has won the most NBA Finals MVP awards?

Michael Jordan has won the most NBA Finals MVP awards, with six in his career.

What is the NBA championship trophy called?

The NBA championship trophy is called the Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy.

Have the NBA Finals always been a 7-game series?

No, the NBA Finals have not always been a 7-game series. The format of the NBA Finals has changed several times throughout the history of the league. Prior to the 1984-85 season, the NBA Finals were played as a best-of-seven series. However, from 1947 to 1957, the Finals was a best-of-five series, and in some instances, it was a best-of-three series. Since the 1984-85 season, the NBA Finals have been a best-of-seven series.

Who has scored the most points in NBA Finals history?

The player with the most points scored in NBA Finals history is Michael Jordan, who scored 1,176 points in 35 Finals games during his career.

Share this Article:

Latest From EatWatchBet

Featured Underdog Bonus for 2023
EatWatchBet Newsletter


Get exclusive access to our weekly picks, promotions, and more.
Invalid email address
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram